The How I Choose to Hibernate Shortlist Is In!

October 15, 2018

The Federation of British Columbia Writers wishes to congratulate the five writers who today made the shortlist for its 2018 Flash Prose contest – a 650-word fiction/non-fiction literary contest that was launched earlier this fall. The theme of the contest – to be judged by 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize winning writer, Jane Munro – was “How I Choose to Hibernate.”

The shortlisted authors are:

Ariana Townsend: Bury Me
Martha Warren: Wake Me
Edythe Anstey Hanen: Shelter Me
Bill Engleson: Winter Road Song
Coranne Creswell: Untethered

The FBCW received a great many strong submissions for this contest and wishes to thank all the writers who submitted. The winner will be announced on October 31.

Note that the next FBCW writing contest will be Literary Writes, its annual poetry contest, which will open December 1, 2018. The Theme will be “Who is ‘The Other’?”

There will be a nineteen-and-under category for this contest (so please help spread the news at your local school) with award-winning poet Renee Saklikar judging this category. Poet Fiona Tinwei Lam will be judging the adult category, with the final submission deadline set for February 1, 2019.

The FBCW is committed to celebrating and nurturing BC’s writing excellence through its writing contests and publishes the winning entries in its magazine, WordWorks, available in print and online at
For any further questions please contact Ann Graham Walker at

Comments are closed.