Labello Press – Independent Publisher of Short Fiction


Closing Date – 31st January 2014

Labello Press: is an independent, Tipperary-based Irish publisher, whose aim is to produce beautiful books, containing unique, well-written and thought-provoking previously unpublished short stories. We are looking for writing with guts and honesty. Humour is appreciated. Simplicity is foremost. Bravery is key. We honour and respect the commitment, hard work and frustration that are all a part of every writer’s journey and want you to know that we value every submission we receive.

Guidelines for entries: Labello Press accepts short stories containing a maximum of 12,000 words for our annual anthology, “Gem Street”. The theme is open but we do not accept Children’s, Young Adult or Poetry. Stories must be previously unpublished, electronically or in print. Any entry submitted that does not follow this will be automatically disqualified. Stories can be from anywhere in the world but must be written in English.

We award the Leonard A. Koval Memorial Prize to the three stories which most reflect the ethos of Labello Press. In addition, we award prizes to the short-list finalist stories included in the anthology as follows:

Three short stories will be awarded €300, €200 and €100 respectively.

 • Each finalist will receive one complimentary copy of “Gem Street 2014″

Entry Fee is €10 per story.

Winning Stories from our inaugural Competition are in “Gem Street 2012” (available directly from  and at select bookstores):
1st PlaceFolie a Deux……..Paul Burns (New Zealand)
2nd PlaceThe Trotternish Ox-men…….Zoe Gilbert (UK)
3rd PlaceCake, Bang, and Elm……P.W.Bridgman (Canada)
The Woman in Her Head……..Carol Brick-Stock (France)
OX……Christian Cook (UK)
Animation……Evan Guilford-Blake (USA)
The Locust Years……Helen Kampfner (Spain)
The Gypsy Line……..Michael Madigan (USA)
As Grey Sky and Sea Blend…..Noel O’Regan (Kerry, Ireland)
Apples…….Wynn Wheldon (UK)

Full details at our website:

2013 Dalton Camp Award

FRIENDS of Canadian Broadcasting is pleased to announce the 2013 Dalton Camp Award.

The winner will receive a $10,000 prize for excellence in creative, original essay-writing on the link between democracy and the media in Canada. New for 2013, a discretionary second prize of $2,500 may be awarded for the best essay by a post-secondary student. The 2013 Award is open to both students and other Canadians.

The deadline for entries is November 15, 2013.

FRIENDS invites you to draw the Award to the attention of the Federation of British Columbia Writers membership and mailing lists or to other potential entrants.

An 8.5×11″ colour poster, and vertical and horizontal versions of a 4×6″ black-and-white announcement, are available in Adobe PDF format and can be downloaded from:

The official rules, past winning essays, a video biography on Dalton Camp, and other details about the Award are available from the Dalton Camp Award website:

Family History Book Award

British Columbia Genealogical Society Family History Book Award

The British Columbia Genealogical Society (BCGS) annual book award to encourage family history research and writing in and about British Columbia, Canada.

Books considered must be written by a British Columbia author and relate to British Columbia family history.

Books must be published in the current year (2013) the deadline for submission is February 15th 2014.

The books should be readable and to accepted genealogical standards.

The family history should include an index, family charts, maps, photos and reference all documents.

Information submitted should include the author and publishers name, address, phone number and email address.

All books submitted become the property of the British Columbia Genealogical Society.

To submit a book for consideration for the BCGS Family History Book Award send one copy to   BCGS, 211 – 14981 – 101A Avenue, Surrey, BC  V3R 0T1

The British Columbia Genealogical Society Family History Award will be presented at the June 2014 meeting of the British Columbia Genealogical Society.

The British Columbia Genealogical Society and its volunteer members have been actively researching and preserving British Columbia, Canada’s genealogical heritage since 1971. Website:

For more information about the BCGS Family History Book Award or the BCGS, call Alice Marwood at 604-582-1548 or email 

William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

Call for Submissions

William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

Entry Deadline: January 31, 2014

Nominations are now being accepted for the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing. Two prizes of $5,000 each are given biennially for works of fiction and nonfiction. Cosponsored by the Stanford University Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation, the awards are intended to “encourage new or emerging writers and honor the Saroyan legacy of originality, vitality, and stylistic innovation.”

For more information — including entry forms, contest rules, complete guidelines, and press materials —visit the website at