Indie Lit Extravaganza!

Arsenal Pulp Press & Anvil Press present an Indie Lit Extravaganza!

Ashley Little launches Anatomy of a Girl Gang (Arsenal Pulp Press)
Jennica Harper launches Wood  (Anvil Press)
Nathaniel G. Moore launches Savage 1986-2011 (Anvil Press)

Hosted by Sean Cranbury

Free event | 19+ | Books for Sale

Where: Penthouse Night Club | 1019 Seymour St, Vancouver, BC

When: Wednesday, November 13  | Doors: 7:00pm, reading 8:00pm

For more info, contact Anvil Press at , 604-876-8710.

About the books:

Wood, by Jennica Harper: Wood is a pop-culture meditation on parenthood and all its complexities and complications. In her third collection, Harper deftly inhabits the lives of sons and daughters, fathers and mothers – the real, the mythical, the dreamed-up, and the surrogate.

Pinocchio tries to make his father proud in a tempting world of sex and vice. A young caregiver to a special needs child ponders her romantic future alongside the true meaning of Crimson & Clover. Bess Houdini, married to the world’s greatest magician, conjures the children she’ll never have. Mad Men’s Sally Draper, daughter of a philandering genius, grows up desperately trying to both defy her father and become him.

Harper accesses these imagined lives in order to get at ugly, funny, profound truths about parenthood: not being the child a parent hoped for. The horror of becoming like one’s parents. The terrifying uncertainty about whether one should have children, yet also the loneliness of childlessness. The poems in Wood are playful, surprising, tender, and brave … and universal in their emotional resonance.

Anatomy of a Girl Gang, by Ashley Little: A sharp and gritty novel told in multiple voices, Anatomy of a Girl Gang is the powerful story of a gang of teenage girls in Vancouver called the Black Roses, a.k.a. “the city’s worst nightmare”: Mac, the self-appointed leader and mastermind; Mercy, the Punjabi princess with a skill for theft; Kayos, a high-school dropout who gave birth to a daughter at age thirteen; Sly Girl, who fled her First Nations reserve for a better life, only to find depravity and addiction; and Z, a sixteen-year-old graffiti artist.

Cast out by mainstream society, the Black Roses rob ATMs, cook crack on stoves, and savagely beat down anyone who dares to harm them. Brutal and broken, they claw at the knot of darkness and violence that tightens around their lives.

Told in stark, vivid, and fearless prose, Anatomy of a Girl Gang is an unflinching story about lost girls struggling for power, voice, and hope.

Savage: 1986-2011, by Nathaniel G. Moore: Nate, a creative, messy, and anxious teen, has chosen wrestler Randy Savage as his hero. As he finishes high school and Savage’s popularity is quickly waning, Nate begins to see the wrestler’s downfall mirrored in his own life. Savage: 1986-2011 chronicles the middle-class implosion of Nate’s nuclear family, bracketed by July 1986 (when he first saw Randy Savage in person) and the wrestler’s sudden death in May 2011. The novel is about the blurred lines between child and adult roles and the ever-changing landscape of interior heroism. Moore revisits, remasters, and repackages a twenty-five year family odyssey with guts, honesty, and love.


JENNICA HARPER’s previous books of poetry are What It Feels Like for a Girl (Anvil) and The Octopus and Other Poems (Signature Editions). In 2012, What It Feels Like for a Girl was published as an e-book for Kindle and Kobo, and was adapted into one-third of the critically acclaimed theatrical experience Initiation Trilogy at the Vancouver International Writers Festival (Marita Dachsel/Electric Company). Her poems have been awarded a Silver National Magazine Award, and have been twice selected for the Poetry in Transit project. Jennica lives in Vancouver, where she also writes for television.

ASHLEY LITTLE studied creative writing at the University of Victoria. Her debut novel Prick: Confessions of a Tattoo Artist (Tightrope Books) was shortlisted for a ReLit Award and has been optioned for a film, for which she is writing the screenplay. She is also the author of the YA novel The New Normal (Orca Book Publishers). Ashley lives in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia.

NATHANIEL G. MOORE is the author of five books, including Wrong Bar, nominated for the 2010 ReLit Award for best novel and Let’s Pretend We Never Met. His fiction has appeared in subTerrain, Joyland, Taddle Creek, and Verbicide Magazine. He has also written for Bravo! Television in the short film Sahara Sahara. Nathaniel is a frequent contributor to Open Book: Toronto, The Globe & Mail and This magazine. Moore lives in Toronto.

Feel free to share!Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

About Shaleeta Harper

I am the Executive Director of the FBCW.

Comments are closed